top of page

Faux Coffered Ceiling

Almost everything in Kaia’s room has been DIY’d in one way or another. This “project”, aka Kaia’s room, has taken me FOUR months. I’m so excited for how it’s all coming together, and even more excited to show you!



I wanted to give her ceiling a coffered look, which is super easy to achieve with some MDF beadboard panels and trim board.


Some challenges I ran into when doing this project were, my ceiling is SO thick that the stud finder thinks it’s ALL STUDS. It isn’t.😂 We also didn’t have AC (you don’t generally need it where we live) and it was SO STINKING HOT!


I used primed 8x12 MDF beadboard panels that I painted by light of the moon on the ground - BEFORE I put them on the ceiling!


To install we first used Loctite Power Grab adhesive, literally one tube per panel - we didn't want these things going anywhere. Once the panels were glued (this takes two people, trust me on this one), we each held an end and matched up the boards ensuring they were level and even with the other boards. With the ceiling being *not* straight, and the different variations in the tExTuRe of the ceiling, we did have to trim down a few pieces to fit snug. Using my all time favorite tool, my nail gun, we used 2” 18 gauge brad nails to secure the panel. Once the glue dries, it would hold the boards up alone but the nails are needed to hold it until the glue has cured.





To hide the seams and give the ceiling that coffered look we added 1x5 primed MDF trim board. This


outlined it & added a finished look. We cut the trim board at 45 degrees, that way the next piece sits flush and shows less of a seam. Then caulk and fill nail holes to finish it off!





What do you think? Do you like the color we went with (Magnolia’s Fresh Stems)?? Tell me on this reel!




Xo,

Kenna
bottom of page