top of page

Kaia's New Mini Kitchen

I found this amazing piece of furniture from a sweet lady who had it as a little girl and set it aside for 50 years. Now it’s been made new again for our girl. A special bonus of buying used furniture is finding little treasures, like the vintage tea set I found INSIDE the cabinet itself!



Here’s how I gave this cabinet new life:


PHASE 1:

1. I removed the hardware and cleaned the piece with Dawn soap and water.

2. I did a really light sand. I generally do a liiight sand (not to strip, but for adhesion & long lasting durability).

3. After sanding I PRIME & then fill holes/dents with wood filler.

4. Now, I sanded with 120 grit to smooth it out.

5. Then I applied paint!


PHASE 2:

1. Using an epoxy resin I mixed equal parts of A & B in a disposable cup to make a chemical reaction!

-Tips for resin:

> Use separate cups to measure out your equal parts

> After pouring the 2 parts together, stirrrrr it with the included sticks!

2. Pour the mixture into the mold.

3. After it is cured, remove from the mold (my favorite part!).

- I let mine sit for about 10 minutes, but make sure to read the resin instructions for specific cure times to the brand you use.


PHASE 3:

1. At this point I painted the furniture piece again this time with some BB Frosch. (link to shopify)

a. It’s a paint additive that I use in all of my projects! Helps with dry time, self leveling, harening, adhesion. You don’t have to prime or sand, but I usually do especially with older stuff.

2. I attached them to the resin flowers with adhesive.

3. Then I caulked and painted it all together!

DO YOU LOVE IT?? This piece will forever tell a story of its own. A story that can be passed on & made to last! I hope it’s one that will continue to be loved and passed on forever.


A labor of love & one that I truly love.


If you want all my tips & tricks for restoring furniture, make sure you check out my How to Flip Furniture ebook!


Xo,

Kenna

bottom of page